College Green Tooth



Veganom-I-Can

When the weather turns cold, the temptation to turn on Christmas music grows and the return to home for winter break nears, I start to daydream about time in the kitchen. For me, cooking is a luxury in which I don’t often indulge when at school. Sure, I assemble salads and bake cheetahs, but I rarely get down to the nitty-gritty and whip out my all-time favorite cookbook.

For every fledgling foodie and vegan, there is that one book that changed it all. As soon as I spied its title on another blog, I looked it up on Amazon and ordered. It was a joyous day when this baby arrived at my doorstep:

It really is the ULTIMATE vegan cookbook.

It really is the ULTIMATE vegan cookbook.

Veganomicon may be single-handedly responsible for most of my vegan knowledge. I’m not kidding.

At the front of the book there is a section titled “Stocking the Veganomicon Pantry.” In it, I discovered basic dairy and meat substitutes (um, tempeh– had no idea what that was beforehand), how beans come in handy and what baking essentials a vegan kitchen needs. The authors, Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero, then move on to explain what works best for vegan cooking, as in how to reduce fat, make dishes full-flavored and full-bodied and how to cook veggies, grains and beans. This was exactly what my kitchen-curious self needed.

After flipping through the book and researching online which recipes were best, I tried my hand at what would become a filling, warm, spicy and ultimately wintery favorite: Snobby Joes. Although I can’t reprint the recipe here, I can send you over the the Post Punk Kitchen’s site for the Snobby Joe low-down. Thanks to easy-to-follow symbols and directions that read like instructions from your best friend, I’ve been able to whip up Joe’s with ease:

Supah snobby with some spinach.

Supah snobby with some spinach.

Among the recipes that have turned me from a novice cook to a, um, lazy yet more confident cook are:
-White Bean Aioli
-A Hummus Recipe
-Tofu Florentine
-Black Bean Burgers (fast and easy)
-Chile Cornmeal-Crusted Tofu Po’ Boy
-Marinated Italian Tofu
-Chickpea Cutlets (make extra and freeze ’em- you’ll want them all the time)
-Double Pea Soup with Roasted Red Peppers
-Southwestern Corn Pudding (so good you may not want to share)
-Lower-Fat Banana Bread (ridiculous)
-Pumpkin Crumb Cake with Pecan Streusel (MAKE THIS! I ate it all by myself last winter break)

Alright, so maybe I haven’t really made that much from the outrageously huge cookbook. No matter, this book has made college cooking easy. That is, when I’ve wanted to cook. Now that I’ve looked back on what I have and haven’t made, I realize I still have a lot of Veganomicon ground to cover.

At least it’s taken the scariness out of vegan cooking, and thus helped me think: “Veganom-I-Can.”

What was your first cookbook? What’s your favorite cookbook?

Leave a Reply

